7 June Feature Image

Getting to Know our Ambassadors (Part 2)

We have been conducting interviews with our ambassadors to find out how they think and feel about their volunteering experiences with TheatreWorks! For today’s interview, we caught up with Amy Jelsma. Passionate about the arts, she has volunteered with TheatreWorks on a number of occasions. Let’s find out more about her thoughts towards The Ambassadors’ Programme!

“Volunteering for theatre in this way provides me an opportunity to learn about important issues”

– Amy Jelsma, TheatreWorks Ambassador


13 june Image

1 ) Tell us more about yourself. How did you get involved in arts volunteerism?

My name is Amy, and I’m currently in my last year of high school at the Australian International School, taking the IB curriculum, and taking theatre as a part of that. I got involved with TheatreWorks volunteering because I heard about it through my theatre teacher and thought it wounded like an excellent opportunity to become involved with the theatre scene in Singapore, learn more about the business of theatre, and participate in the great productions and collaborations TheatreWorks is involved in.

2) Do share with us your experiences volunteering with TheatreWorks. How does it make you feel?

Now I have been volunteering with TheatreWorks for just over a year, and in that time I’ve helped out with a few projects, most memorably the 2015 24-hour Playwriting Competition and the RE/PLAY collaborative dance act in 2016. Both of these activities have greatly expanded my understanding and views of what theatre is and encompasses, and have even inspired some of my own work in the theatre.

Volunteering for theatre in this way provides me an opportunity to learn about important issues, such as the stigma surrounding mental health (the 2015 playwriting competition was held at IMH), and being a part of such important education for everyone involved, most of all myself, has been a really special experience I’m glad I could have.

3) What are some of your takeaways as an Ambassador?

Besides inspiration for my own theatre that I create or am a part of, I’ve really been able to learn a lot about the business of theatre, and how a functioning theatre company is run and is successful. Understanding this is good for me as it allows me to make more imformed decisions about possible paths I might want my future to take.

4) What do you hope to see in the future as an Ambassador?

As an ambassador, I hope to continue to be involved in more activities and shows that are meaningful for everyone involved, and meaningful in a way that is bigger than only what is put on the stage. Meaningful in the way the 2015 Playwriting competition educated us about mental health stigma. I hope to continue to be a part of important endeavours like this that can help the word to become a better place through the theatre that is created.


Do keep a look out for more upcoming interviews with ambassadors! Interested in arts volunteerism? Join our TAP family here today.

Leave a Reply

